Best Tribal Destinations Awarded at American Indian Tourism Conference

Each year, AIANTA, as the national organization representing the tribal hospitality and tourism industry, recognizes the best of Indian Country travel and tourism. The 2015 awards went to Grand Canyon Sky Walk’s staff for Excellence in Customer Service; Alaskan Dream Cruises for Best Cultural Heritage Experience; and Acoma Sky City Cultural Center and Haak’u Museum took home Tribal Destination of the Year.

Grand Canyon West/Grand Canyon Sky Walk, which received the Excellence in Customer Service Award, is fully owned and operated by the Hualapai Nation.  Grand Canyon West’s nomination for this award came from a personal account from a traveler, who experienced outstanding customer service from all staff she interacted with from the beginning of her visit to the end.

Best Cultural Heritage Experience was awarded to Alaskan Dream Cruises.  They offer a unique Alaskan experience with on board cultural interpretation of the local history, traditions, culture, landscapes, flora/fauna and the natural surroundings of Southeast Alaska.

Best Tribal Destination of the Year Award went to Acoma Sky City Cultural Center and Haak’u Museum in New Mexico, which strives to preserve Acoma traditions while providing insight into the unique history of the Acoma Pueblo. Open year-round, the cultural center offers guided tours, Acoma pottery and Native American crafts for sale by local artisans and cultural exhibits. Excelling in this award category, the cultural center offers tours led by tribal members who explain the history and the life of the pueblo, both past and present, providing guests with a memorable experience. 



2015 Enough Good People Awardees

AIANTA recognized individuals who have been instrumental to the organization and to the success of Indian Country tourism.

David Uberuaga, Superintendent at the Grand Canyon National Park

Joe Garcia, Former Governor of Ohkay Owingeh

Kristen Lamoureux, PhD, New York University

Ron Erdmann, Deputy Director of Research, Office of Travel and Tourism Industries at the U.S. Department of Commerce